Export control

Forthcoming entry into force of the new EU dual-use regulation

Date : 11 June 2021

Regulation (EU) 2021/821 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 May 2021 setting up a Union regime for the control of exports, brokering, technical assistance, transit and transfers of dual-use items (recast)

Forthcoming entry into force of the new dual-use regulation

 

Regulation (EU) 2021/821 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 May 2021 was published in the OJEU L 206 of 11 June 2021.

 

This regulation recasts and repeals regulation 428/2009 on dual-use items (DU) – (items designed for civilian purposes but which may have both civilian and military use).  It will be applicable as of September 9, 2021.

 

While the amendments to Regulation (EC) 428/2009 do not change the fundamental principles of the control of trade in such BDUs or the general scheme of the Regulation, they will nevertheless result in some changes to the current “rules of the game”.

 

After four years of negotiations between the Commission, the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union on a Commission proposal of September 2016, a preliminary political agreement on the text of the Regulation was reached on November 9, 2020. The Parliament gave its first reading agreement on 25 March 2021, followed by the Council on 10 May 2021.

 

The text of the Regulation will enter into force after a transitional period of 90 days following its publication in the OJEU on 11 June 2021, i.e. on 10 September 2021.

 

This means that the relevant provisions of Regulation (EC) No. 428/2009 remain applicable for export authorization applications submitted before September 9, 2021.

 

These changes in the “rules of the game” are briefly outlined here and concern primarily new or revised definitions.

 

“The Exporter”

 

The definition of exporter has been revised in point 3) of Article 2 of Chapter I “Purpose and Definitions” of the Regulations.

 

Firstly, the time at which this definition is to be analysed has been clarified, namely “the time at which the export or re-export declaration or the exit summary declaration is accepted”. In the previous version, the reference was to “the moment when the declaration is accepted”.

 

As a reminder, the rule for defining an exporter under the Regulation is as follows: the exporter is the person (natural or legal) who has the power to determine the sending of the items out of the customs territory of the Union (see 3) a)).

 

 

In line with this rule, the exporter can only be resident or established in the EU. Indeed, if the person entitled to decide on the export of the product is not in the EU, then depending on the contract on which the export is based, the exporter is deemed to be the contracting party who is resident or established in the EU.

 

What if the person entitled to decide on the export is not only resident or established outside the EU but also a third party to the export contract?

 

This person is not an exporter within the meaning of the Regulation, but does this mean that the transaction involving controlled goods within the meaning of the Regulation is not subject to control?

 

Transfers by electronic means are also covered and specified by the Regulation in point b) of 3):

 

“any natural or legal person or any partnership that decides to transmit software or technology by electronic means, including by fax, telephone, electronic mail or by any other electronic means to a destination outside the customs territory of the Union, or to make available in an electronic form such software and technology to natural or legal persons or to partnerships outside the customs territory of the Union [new]”.

 

 

“Technical assistance”

 

Technical assistance is now defined in point 9) of Article 2 of Chapter I “Purpose and Definitions” of the Regulation as: ” any technical support related to repairs, development, manufacture, assembly, testing, maintenance, or any other technical service, and may take forms such as instruction, advice, training, transmission of working knowledge or skills or consulting services, including by electronic means as well as by telephone or any other verbal forms of assistance“.

 

Provider of technical assistance is also defined in point 10) and it is interesting to note that the concept covers not only any person providing assistance from the EU to a third territory but also any person “resident or established in a Member State that provides technical assistance to a resident of a third country temporarily present in the customs territory of the Union”. This definition looks like the US “deemed export” which controls the exchange of controlled technical information as soon as it takes place on the US soil. However, in the European case, it is necessary that the technical assistance provider be established or resident in the EU.

 

This means that the provision of technical assistance in relation to dual-use items listed in the Annex to the Regulation will be subject to authorization if there are indications of a sensitive end-use or if the competent authority has been informed of such an end-use.

 

 

 

 

Cyber-surveillance goods

 

Cyber surveillance goods are defined in Article 2(20) of Chapter I “Purpose and Definitions” of the Regulation as: “dual-use goods specifically designed to enable the covert surveillance of natural persons by monitoring, extracting, collecting or analyzing data from information and telecommunications systems.

 

Contrary to what had been envisioned, there will not be a specific category for cyber surveillance goods (category 11).

 

However, the regulation does provide for the introduction of stricter controls on the export of digital surveillance technology. There is now a catch-all clause for the export of unlisted digital surveillance and interception technologies.

 

 

The export of such goods will be subject to authorization if the exporter has been informed by the competent authority that the goods concerned are or may be intended, in whole or in part, for use in internal repression or in connection with the commission of serious violations of human rights or humanitarian law.

 

If, on the other hand, an exporter becomes aware, as a result of “due diligence information”, that unlisted cybersurveillance goods are intended for one of the above-mentioned critical uses, it will now have a duty to inform the competent authority.

 

 

The “Internal Compliance Program” (“ICP”)

 

The principle of due diligence involves the assessment of the risks associated with the transactions covered by these Regulations by means of analytical review of the transactions as part of an internal compliance program (“ICP”).

 

In this regard, the size and organizational structure of exporters in particular must be taken into account when developing and implementing ICPs.

 

The PIC defined in Article 2, point 21) of Chapter I “Purpose and Definitions” of the Regulation is necessary but not unique: there is no “one size fits all” in this respect.

 

 

Licensing obligation for reasons related to public security or to human rights

 

If an EU Member State places additional dual-use items on a national control list and this list is published in the Official Journal of the EU, this may also trigger a licensing requirement in other EU Member States if the competent authority (in the exporter’s Member State) has informed the exporter that the export of the items in question is of concern for reasons of public security (including the prevention of terrorist acts) or human rights.

 

 

The creation of two new general authorizations

 

Two new general authorizations are created:

 

  • EU007: For intra-group exports of software and technology
    • Goods covered are all those in Annex I except 4A005, 4D004, 4E001.c, 5A001.f and 5A001.j
    • Destinations covered are: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, India, Indonesia, Israel, Jordan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia.

 

  • EU008: For certain items containing cryptography
    • The goods covered are: 5A002.a.2, 5A002.a.3, certain goods covered by 5A002.b, certain software covered by 5D002.a.1, certain software covered by 5D002.b, certain software covered by 5D002.c.1, and certain technology covered by 5E002.b.
    • They must meet certain cumulative conditions:
      • Use only published or commercial cryptographic standards approved or adopted by internationally recognized standards bodies;
      • Not use standards designed for government use;
      • Not be easily modified by the user.
    • All destinations except:
      • Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cambodia, Central African Republic, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Democratic Republic of the Congo, Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Georgia, United Arab Emirates, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritius, Mongolia, Myanmar/Burma, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe;
      • Countries subject to an arms embargo or subject to EU restrictive measures applicable to BDUs.

 

In France, certain goods containing cryptography are controlled by the ANSSI (Agence Nationale de la Sécurité des Systèmes d’Information) and require a declaration or an application for authorization with the Authority in order to be imported, transferred or exported.

 

In Germany, for example, the use of the German National General Authorization 16 (telecommunications and information security) will remain possible.

 

 

 

 

 

The creation of a large project license

 

A license (which can be individual or global) for large projects is introduced with a maximum validity period of four years in principle (the validity period can even be longer than four years in duly justified cases resulting from the duration of the project). It is granted to a particular exporter for a type or category of BDU, which may be valid for exports to one or more specific end-users in one or more specific third countries for the purpose of a specific large-scale project.

 

 

The exchange of information between the national authorities and the Commission, but also between the licensing authorities and the customs authorities of the EU Member States, is reinforced.

 

In France, the implementation of GUN has allowed, for several years now, a shared and transparent knowledge of BDU files by the SBDU and the DGDDI; the submission of a simple application without a license to the SBDU is thus visible to the customs.

 

All customs codes likely to correspond to a BDU are subject to special attention both at the declarative level by the operator (see RITA & CANA database to be indicated in box 44 of the export declaration) and at the level of surveillance of the flows monitored by the DGDDI.

 

 

Paris, June 11, 2021

Contrôle des exportations

Prochaine entrée en vigueur du nouveau règlement sur les biens à double usage

Date : 11 juin 2021

Règlement (UE) 2021/821 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 20 mai 2021 instituant un régime de l’Union de contrôle des exportations, du courtage, de l’assistance technique, du transit et des transferts en ce qui concerne les biens à double usage (refonte)

 

Prochaine entrée en vigueur du nouveau règlement sur les biens à double usage

 

Le règlement (UE) 2021/821 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 20 mai 2021 est paru au JOUE L 206 du 11 juin 2021.

 

Ce règlement refond et abroge le règlement 428/2009 relatif aux biens à double usage (BDU) – (Biens conçus à des fins civiles mais susceptibles d’avoir une utilisation tant civile que militaire).  Il sera applicable à compter du 9 septembre 2021.

 

Si les modifications apportées au règlement (CE) 428/2009 ne changent pas les principes fondamentaux du contrôle du commerce de ces BDU ni l’économie générale dudit Règlement, elles entraîneront néanmoins quelques changements des « règles du jeu » actuelles.

 

Après quatre ans de négociations entre la Commission, le Parlement européen et le Conseil de l’Union européenne sur une proposition de la Commission de septembre 2016, un accord politique préliminaire sur le texte du règlement a été conclu le 9 novembre 2020. Le Parlement a donné son accord en première lecture le 25 mars 2021, suivi par le Conseil le 10 mai 2021.

 

Le texte du Règlement prévoit son entrée en vigueur au terme d’une période transitoire de 90 jours suite à sa parution au JOUE du 11 juin 2021, soit le 10 septembre 2021.

 

Cela signifie que les dispositions pertinentes du règlement (CE) no 428/2009 restent applicables pour les demandes d’autorisation d’exportation introduites avant le 9 septembre 2021.

 

Ces changements de « règles du jeu » sont brièvement exposés ici et concernent en premier lieu de nouvelles définitions ou des révisions de définitions.

 

L’« exportateur »

 

La définition d’exportateur a été revue au point 3) de l’article 2 du Chapitre I « Objet et Définitions » du Règlement.

 

A été premièrement précisé, le moment où cette définition doit être analysée, à savoir le « moment où la déclaration d’exportation ou de réexportation ou la déclaration sommaire de sortie est acceptée ». Dans l’ancienne version, on visait « le moment où la déclaration est acceptée ».

 

Pour rappel, la définition d’un exportateur au regard du Règlement est la suivante : l’exportateur est la personne (physique ou morale) habilitée à décider de l’exportation du produit (voir 3) a)). Auparavant les termes étaient plus imprécis car l’exportateur était « la personne qui a la faculté de décider de l’envoi » ; la notion de « faculté » a pu faire l’objet d’interprétations variées.

 

Dans le prolongement de cette règle, l’exportateur ne peut qu’être résident ou établi dans l’UE. En effet, si la personne habilitée à décider de l’exportation du produit n’est pas dans l’UE, alors selon le contrat sur lequel l’exportation est fondée, l’exportateur est réputé être la partie contractante qui réside ou est établie dans l’UE.

 

Quid si la personne habilitée à décider de l’exportation est non seulement résidente ou établie hors de l’UE mais aussi tierce au contrat d’exportation ?

 

Certes, cette personne n’est pas exportatrice au sens du Règlement, mais cela signifie-t-il pour autant que la transaction qui concerne des biens contrôlés au sens dudit Règlement échappe à tout contrôle ?

 

Les transferts par voie électronique sont eux aussi visés et précisés par le Règlement au point b) du 3):

 

«  toute personne physique ou morale ou tout partenariat qui décide de transmettre des logiciels ou des technologies par voie électronique, y compris par télécopieur, téléphone, courrier électronique ou tout autre moyen électronique vers une destination à l’extérieur du territoire douanier de l’Union, ou de mettre à disposition sous forme électronique des logiciels et des technologies à l’intention de personnes physiques ou morales ou de partenariats à l’extérieur du territoire douanier de l’Union [nouveau] ».

 

 

L’ « assistance technique »

 

L’assistance technique est désormais définie au point 9) de l’article 2 du Chapitre I « Objet et Définitions » du Règlement comme : « tout appui technique en liaison avec la réparation, le développement, la fabrication, le montage, les essais, l’entretien ou tout autre service technique, qui peut prendre la forme d’instructions, de conseils, de formation, de transmission de connaissances ou de qualifications opérationnelles ou encore de services de consultance, y compris par voie électronique ainsi que par téléphone ou toute autre forme d’assistance fournie de vive voix ».

 

Le fournisseur d’assistance technique est également défini au point 10) et il est intéressant de constater que la notion recouvre non seulement toute personne fournissant une assistance depuis l’UE vers un territoire tiers mais aussi toute personne qui « réside ou est établi dans l’UE qui fournit une assistance technique à un résident d’un pays tiers temporairement présent sur le territoire douanier de l’Union ». Cette définition ressemble au « deemed export » américain qui permet de contrôler les échanges d’informations techniques contrôlées dès lors qu’elles se font sur le territoire américain. Néanmoins, dans le cas de figure européen, il est nécessaire que le fournisseur d’assistance technique soit établi ou réside dans l’UE.

 

Ceci signifie que la fourniture d’une assistance technique en rapport avec des biens à double usage énumérés dans l’Annexe au Règlement sera soumise à autorisation s’il existe des indications d’une utilisation finale sensible ou si l’autorité compétente a été informée d’une telle utilisation finale.

 

 

Les « biens de cybersurveillance »

 

Les biens de cybersurveillance sont ainsi définis au point 20) de l’article 2 du Chapitre I « Objet et Définitions » du Règlement comme : « des biens à double usage conçus spécifiquement pour permettre la surveillance discrète de personnes physiques par la surveillance, l’extraction, la collecte ou l’analyse de données provenant de systèmes d’information et de télécommunications. »

 

Contrairement à ce qui avait été envisagé, il n’y aura pas de catégorie spécifique pour les biens de cybersurveillance (catégorie 11).

 

Toutefois, le Règlement prévoit l’introduction de contrôles plus stricts en matière d’exportation des technologies de surveillance numérique. Désormais, une clause attrape-tout vise l’exportation de technologies de surveillance et d’interception numériques non répertoriées.

 

 

L’exportation de ces biens sera soumise à autorisation si l’exportateur a été informé par l’autorité compétente que les biens concernés sont ou peuvent être destinés, en totalité ou en partie, à être utilisés à des fins de répression interne ou dans le cadre de la commission de violations graves des droits de l’homme ou du droit humanitaire.

 

Si, de son côté, un exportateur se rend compte, à la suite d’une “information de diligence raisonnable“, que des biens de cybersurveillance non répertoriés sont destinés à l’une des utilisations critiques susmentionnées, il aura désormais le devoir d’en informer l’autorité compétente.

 

 

Le « programme interne de conformité » (« PIC »)

 

Le principe de diligence raisonnable implique l’évaluation des risques liés aux transactions concernées par le présent Règlement au moyen de mesures d’examen analytique des transactions dans le cadre d’un programme interne de conformité (« PIC »).

 

À cet égard, la taille et la structure organisationnelle des exportateurs doivent en particulier être prises en compte lors de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre des PIC.

 

Le PIC défini au point 21) de l’article 2 du Chapitre I « Objet et Définitions » du Règlement devient nécessaire mais n’est pas unique : il n’existe pas de « one size fits all » en la matière.

 

 

Obligation de licence pour raisons de sécurité publique ou relatives aux droits de l’homme

 

Si un État membre de l’Union inscrit des biens à double usage supplémentaires sur une liste de contrôle nationale et que cette liste est publiée au Journal officiel de l’UE, cela pourra également entraîner une obligation de procédure de licence dans d’autres États membres de l’UE si l’autorité compétente (dans le ressort de l’Etat membre de l’exportateur) a informé l’exportateur que l’exportation des biens en question est préoccupante pour des raisons de sécurité publique (notamment la prévention d’actes terroristes) ou au regard des droits de l’homme.

 

La création de deux nouvelles autorisations générales

 

Deux nouvelles autorisations générales sont créées :

 

  • EU007 : Pour les exportations intragroupes de logiciels et de technologies
    • Les biens visés sont tous ceux de l’annexe I sauf 4A005, 4D004, 4E001.c, 5A001.f et 5A001.j
    • Les destinations visées sont : Afrique du Sud, Argentine, Brésil, Chili, Corée du Sud, Inde, Indonésie, Israël, Jordanie, Malaisie, Maroc, Mexique, Philippines, Singapour, Thaïlande, Tunisie.

 

  • EU008: Pour certains articles contenant de la cryptographie
    • Les biens visés sont les suivants : 5A002.a.2, 5A002.a.3, certains biens couverts par 5A002.b, certains logiciels couverts par 5D002.a.1, certains logiciels couverts par 5D002.b, certains logiciels couverts par 5D002.c.1 et certaines technologies couvertes par 5E002.b.
    • Ils doivent répondre à certaines conditions cumulatives :
      • Utiliser uniquement des normes cryptographiques publiées ou commerciales approuvées ou adoptées par des organismes de normalisation internationalement reconnus ;
      • Ne pas utiliser de normes conçues pour un usage par les pouvoirs publics ;
      • Ne pas être modifié facilement par l’utilisateur.
    • Toutes destinations exceptées :
      • Afghanistan, Arabie saoudite, Arménie, Azerbaïdjan, Biélorussie, Cambodge, République centrafricaine, Chine (y compris Hong Kong et Macao), République démocratique du Congo, Congo, Corée du Nord, Égypte, Émirats arabes unis, Érythrée, Géorgie, Iran, Iraq, Israël, Kazakhstan, Kirghizstan, Liban, Libye, Malaisie, Mali, Maurice, Mongolie, Myanmar/Birmanie, Oman, Ouzbékistan, Pakistan, Qatar, Russie, Somalie, Soudan du Sud, Soudan, Syrie, Tadjikistan, Turkménistan, Venezuela, Yémen, Zimbabwe
      • Pays soumis à un embargo sur les armes ou visés par des mesures restrictives de l’UE applicables aux BDU.

 

En France, certains biens contenant de la cryptographie sont contrôlés par l’ANSSI (Agence Nationale de la Sécurité des Systèmes d’Information) et nécessitent une déclaration ou une demande d’autorisation auprès de l’Autorité afin de pouvoir être importés, transférés ou exportés.

 

En Allemagne, par exemple, l’utilisation de l’autorisation générale nationale allemande 16 (télécommunications et sécurité de l’information) restera possible.

 

 

La création d’une autorisation applicable à un grand projet

 

Une licence (qui peut être individuelle ou globale) pour les grands projets est introduite avec une durée de validité maximale de quatre ans en principe (la durée de validité pouvant même être supérieure à 4 ans dans des cas dûment justifiés découlant de la durée du projet). Elle est octroyée à un exportateur particulier pour un type ou une catégorie de BDU, qui peut être valable pour des exportations vers un ou plusieurs utilisateurs finals spécifiques dans un ou plusieurs pays tiers spécifiques aux fins d’un projet à grande échelle précis.

 

 

L’échange d’informations entre les autorités nationales et la Commission, mais aussi entre les autorités chargées de l’octroi des licences et les autorités douanières des États membres de l’UE, est renforcé.

 

En France la mise en place de GUN permet, depuis plusieurs années maintenant, une connaissance partagée et transparente des dossiers BDU par le SBDU et la DGDDI ; le dépôt d’une simple demande hors licence auprès du SBDU étant ainsi visible par la douane.

 

Tous les codes douaniers susceptibles de correspondre à un BDU font l’objet d’une attention particulière tant au niveau déclaratif par l’opérateur (voir base RITA & CANA à indiquer en case 44 de la déclaration d’exportation) que de la surveillance par la DGDDI.

 

 

Paris, le 11 juin 2021